To The One Who Broke My Heart

Hey.

I know that I shouldn’t be wasting my breath on you, but this is my way of calling an end to the heartbreak I feel because of our failed relationship.

It’s painful to let you go because I know that you don’t want to be with me. Rejection is a bitter pill to swallow.

I fell head-over-heels in love with you, and maybe that was the problem. I fell too hard too fast. You were perfect in every way – romantic, caring, considerate, smart and good looking, and you did like me because your actions told me so. We were inseparable, spending every moment together and being so engrossed in each other that it felt like a romantic movie.

But slowly, this started to change.

You started acting weird by speaking to me sparingly, if at all. Our dates became less because you were “busy”, and when we eventually met, you were cold and distant. I called you out on your bullshit, and you told me that you were tired and stressed and that I was overthinking things.

I knew you weren’t happy anymore, and I pushed you for an honest answer about what was up with you until you eventually told me a truth that I wasn’t prepared for.

Not only had you gotten back together with your ex, but you were engaged and you were making plans to elope and get married.

You know, a little heads up on what you wanted would’ve gone a long way. Maybe I would’ve been happy for you and gotten you a wedding gift. And the excuse for not telling me the truth – that you were afraid of hurting me – is bullshit. You were a coward and a liar.

I was devastated, and still am to some degree. But, with time healing my heart, I started to see the silver lining in this failed relationship.

Thank you for showing me what love is not. Love isn’t dishonest, it doesn’t betray and it doesn’t pretend.

I’m grateful that this failed relationship revealed my weaknesses. Firstly, I get so absorbed with the euphoria of love that I don’t take time to get to know the person I’m dating well. I’m changing this going forward. Secondly, I trust too easily. Trust has to be earned and not given blindly.

I was desperate for love because I thought that finding “the one” will be the cure for my loneliness, and somehow my life will feel more complete. Love is great, but it’s not the end all of my life, it’s part of my life. I’m going to focus on other aspects of my life while taking it easy with my love-life by not putting so much pressure on myself to find “the one”.

Other than that, you were an asshole and I’m glad that I’m finally getting over you.

Enjoy your life,

Me.

*image from Pexels.

*Dailypost WordPress.

20 thoughts on “To The One Who Broke My Heart

  1. Yoh! This piece 🙂
    i like the part of “thank you for showing me what love is not”. Total empowerment

  2. I can understand feeling overtaken with the euphoric love feeling. We tend to have “blinders” on until they fall off and we see the truth. And honestly, heartbreak takes a long time to heal. I was divorced once and I actually still find myself reflecting on what went wrong. If you really love someone the pain is real. Everyone is different, some people move on quickly. But, I think we are all affected for life from someone we really loved. Healing is a process and often a long one. ❤

Leave a Reply

