One of the Effects of Drunk Driving

INT. CLUB PARTYNOVA — BAR — NIGHT TIME

The club is hyped up with loud music and party revelers on the dance floor and at the bar. My girls and I decided to have a girls’ night out this Friday night after a long and stressful week. I’m looking forward to this night because I want to unwind from work stress, and to forget my marital problems for a while. I left my husband at home after yet another fight. My 3 friends and I are at the bar, preparing to take shots of tequila.

ME

(holding my tequila glass, ready to make a toast)

Girls, here’s to us! Let’s paaarty!

MY 3 FRIENDS

(holding their tequila glasses and shrieking excitedly)

Wooohooo! Here’s to us!

We drink our tequila, following by sucking on lime, and shriek excitedly. After our first round of shots, we make our way to the dance floor. I’m enjoying the feeling of letting lose, and the naughtiness of dancing with the random cutie I met on the dance floor. At this moment, I decide that I want to get hammered. After dancing for a while with my cutie, my friends and I make our way back to the bar to get more drinks. We gulp down drink after drink, and before I know it, I’m totally shitfaced.

The room is spinning around and the music is pumping. The club is crazy, and I’m now dancing topless on a table with some random guy. We’re dancing like we’re making love, and the crowd is loving it. The erotic dancing abruptly ends when someone drags me off the table by my hair. Once I regain my balance, I see an angry woman in front of me.

THE WOMAN

(pulling me to face her while letting go of my hair and shouting angrily)

You bitch! That’s my boyfriend.

What the fuck do you think you’re doing?

ME

(giving her attitude, unable to stand still and slurring through my words)

What? We’re just having fun. Besides, who can resist these juicy milkshakes?

With no warning, the woman punches me on the side of my face, knocking me down to the floor. I somehow regain my balance and fight back, resulting in an all-out brawl. Not even our groups of friends could get us off each other. Eventually, the bouncers intervene, and I get dragged out of the club.

EXT. PARKING LOT OF CLUB PARTYNOVA

The bouncer throws me out onto the parking lot. He says nothing, and gives me an annoyed and angry look. I crouch over to hide my breasts as I start screaming for him to give me my shirt.

ME

Where’s my shirt? Get me my shirt!

The bouncer finds a box with shirts that were handed out as freebies when the club opened for the night, and throws one at me. I put it on.

In my drunken state, I feel the need to go home. Irritatingly, my handbag is still inside, and there’s no way the bouncers will let me back in. Luckily, I was wearing my best pair of jeans and slid my car keys in my side pocket instead of putting it in my handbag. I look for my car for what feels like an eternity. When I do eventually find it, I waste no time in hitting the road.

INT. IN THE CAR — DRIVING ON THE ROAD

I blast up the radio to continue the party. I’m playing heavy metal music and I’m cruising, or so I believe, on the road in my drunken state. I skip a few red traffic lights and almost run a few cars off the road, narrowly missing a few head-on collisions. The sheer adrenaline of this makes me shriek in excitement, until I knock hard into something that sends my car spiraling out of control. I bang into something and black out.

EXT. ACCIDENT SCENE ON WILLIAM NICOL DRIVE

When I regained consciousness, I was surrounded by paramedics. It took a while to figure out what was happening. My head was pounding and it was bandaged. I saw a car that was shriveled up like a large piece of paper. I started to panic as I realized what I had done. I was a drunk driver, and caused an accident. I immediately ran to the victim that was being wheeled away by the paramedics. I wanted to see the person that I had hurt to make sure that they were alive. As soon as I saw the person I had knocked into, I immediately screamed.

ME

(weeping and trying to clutch onto the stretcher being wheeled into the ambulance by the paramedics)

Noooooo! I’m so sorry! Baby, stay with me… I’m so sorry! Noooooo!

PARAMEDIC

(trying to push me off the stretcher)

Ma’am, please step to the side. Ma’am. Step to the side.

ME

(weeping uncontrollably while holding onto a paramedic)

Nooooo! That’s my husband. Please… That’s my husband.

*image from Pexels.

*Dailypost WordPress.

2 thoughts on “One of the Effects of Drunk Driving

Leave a Reply

