BREAKING UP WITH MY BEST FRIEND

Friend, I’m mourning the loss of you and our friendship.

This breakup is worse than breaking up with a partner because you have played such a significant role in my life, and I love you with all my heart. What breaks my heart is that you don’t love me nor do you want to, even after 12 years of friendship.

I don’t really know what happened between us because we were inseparable since we were 17. We went to the same college, shared a dorm room until final year, found jobs in the same city and lived together until we could afford our own apartments.

When I reminisce on the past, it’s nothing but great memories. From hectic nights out dancing on tables and awesome road trips to moving to a new city and experiencing the ups and downs of adulthood… We had some great times.

But that’s just it – I’m stuck in the past of how things used to be because it’s not like that anymore. Maybe we’ve changed so much as people that we’ve outgrown each other, but if that’s the case, I’m sure that I would’ve known.

Lately, this friendship has been one-sided. You expect me to be there for you through good times and bad, but you are more than happy to brush my concerns aside, not bothering to put any effort into supporting me when I need it most. I’ve always been quick to forgive you for your mistakes, but one wrong step from me results in you not speaking to me for months, even bad-mouthing me to our other friends.

I feel like I sacrificed so much for this friendship, only for you to take from me without giving anything back. I feel like I sacrificed myself for you, stomping my self-growth in order to be what you wanted me to be for your comfort. You were never happy with our individualism, and lately, you’ve been jealous of every success I attained and even make me feel like I’m being selfish for living my life.

You are arrogant, self-centred and live in a bubble that you’ve created where only your life matters. You suck the life out of me by expecting everything to revolve around you so much so that giving me a call just to say hi is incomprehensible to you.

It’s as if I’m in your life to be your cheerleader, to tell you how pretty you are and be your shoulder to cry on when you don’t get your way. Do you really expect me to live in your shadow to make you feel good about yourself, or to be the less successful or pretty one so that you can feel glorified?

What we have is no longer a friendship. It’s a weird social interaction where I puff you up and you drag me down. I feel hurt and betrayed by you, and I choose to let you go.

I wish you all the best. Bye.

*image from Pinterest.

*Dailypost WordPress.

2 thoughts on “BREAKING UP WITH MY BEST FRIEND

  1. That is always the hardest. Try so hard to please and it’s still not good enough. I’m sorry for your breakup but you will have learned some valuable lessons for the next person you call best friend, at least that’s how I’ve always looked at it

Leave a Reply

