EFFECTS OF HORROR MOVIES ON THE BODY

I’m not a fan of horror movies so much so that I think the genre is one of the worst in the film world.

The last horror movie I watched was “The Exorcist” back in 2002 after my friends decided that they were bored and wanted to watch something exciting.

It was a scary experience that left me watching over my shoulder for days for fear that something was going to go wrong, and for about 5 years after that, I could never go to bed without my Bible and sleeping with gospel music playing softly on my phone. That’s no way to live.

marlena-days-of-our-lives-possessed-soapie-googie-image

Growing up, I was never a fan of horror because I disliked the effect it had on me. I would be anxious for weeks on end after watching a scary flick, almost believing that the devil is this mighty thing that I have no control over and that will relentlessly come after me.

So after my 2002 experience, I vowed to never watch horror movies again.

I do believe that horror movies have a negative psychological effect based on my experience with them. In a nutshell, they turn you into a anxious and fearful person.

But what effect do they have on the body?

For starters, they put your body under a lot of stress, resulting in the release of cortisol and after-effects such as memory loss and depression. Adrenaline shoots through the body, leaving you in a state of fight-or-flight.

Here’s an article from Bustle on the effects of horror movies on the body.

*image from Channel24.

Make sure to like my Facebook page LadyLebz here.

Leave a Reply

