WHAT IS A GOOD FATHER?

father-daughter-baby-hands-love-google-image

Conception – when you found out that I was about to arrive in 9 months’ time, you freaked out and had a meltdown. You then married mama and committed to raising a family

Infancy – bath time was our special bonding time. You would always keep an extra towel because I always splashed you with water 🙂

Toddler – you always stuck up for me, even when I was naughty as hell. Going anywhere with me was a combination of an awesome time and a nightmare because on some days, I’d be happy and easy-going, and other days I would throw never-ending tantrums

Preschooler – it was always fun walking to crèche with you. I would be hopping and skipping all the way there, and you would always pluck a goodbye kiss on my forehead before heading off to work

School age – You were my biggest supporter at all my school competitions. Remember how proud you were when I came first in the athletics relay race at school? It felt like you had achieved greatness. You always made sure to help me with my maths and science homework, no matter how tired you were after a long day at work. I passed really well because of you. No wonder you always won the first prize for maths and science when you were in school

I didn’t know how strongly you felt about me staying away from boys until my last year in primary school when my maths teacher told you that I was failing because I was interested in them. You shouted at me that night, and I was really upset. Mama talked to me and told me that it was because you were protective of me

Teenage years – Wow! What a tumultuous period. You were taking strain at work and I hardly ever saw you happy. I felt like I was becoming a different person, drifting further away each day from you and mama, and y’all didn’t know what to do with me. If only we had communicated during that time, so many misunderstandings and arguments would’ve been prevented

You were proud when I graduated from high school with several distinctions, and I was happy that I made you proud

I was ecstatic that I was going off to university, thinking of my newfound freedom to explore the world and become my own person. I had no idea that you were worried about how you’d be covering my tuition, let alone know that the extra hours you were working throughout my high school years was to raise funds for my tertiary education.

Post adolescence – your actions always spoke louder than words after I turned 21. You struggled to accept that I was no longer a little girl, but you were happy that you raised a head-strong young woman. You grappled between saving me from all my mistakes and letting me grow into my own. You always supported me by being my number one cheerleader, even when you didn’t really understand my decisions

Young adult – so glad we can have conversations about money, politics and men. The idea of me having a boyfriend still grosses you out, and I find that quite funny! The milestones of me getting my first promotion at work, opening up my first business, getting engaged and having my first child are still coming up, and I know you can’t wait for those 🙂

I realize that you’re not a young man anymore, so I want to love and care for you as best as I can while you’re still here on this earth with me.

Thank you for being the best father a daughter could ever ask for.

*image from Creative Commons.

*Dailypost WordPress.

2 thoughts on “WHAT IS A GOOD FATHER?

Leave a Reply

