TO SHOWER OR NOT TO SHOWER … WHEN YOU’RE LATE FOR WORK

As I entered the room, I started to panic.

It felt like time was moving slowly, and I had been thrown in a time lapse. I could sense them sniggering to each other about me, looking at me with disgust. Others blew up in laughter as they stared in my direction.

All I wanted to do was run away, but I couldn’t.

I had nowhere else to go.

So I continued walking, trying to appear strong and resilient.

As I continued to walk past them, the voices talking behind my back were getting louder, the laughter was increasing and they kept looking at me as if I had vomited all over myself after a heavy night of alcohol binging.

At that moment, I knew that my secret was exposed.

My heart started exceeding the normal rate of pulsation and I broke out in a dizzy spell. It was then that I started running… I fled as fast as I can… I fled from the canteen to my desk as I was convinced that my colleagues knew that I …

I didn’t shower that morning before I came to work.

And I didn’t change my outfit from what I wore on the previous day.

How could I have had time to prepare myself for the office when I overslept and woke up at 8:30am, only to realize that I had an important meeting with my boss at 9:00am?

RUSHING TO WORK LATE JOB CAREER GOOGLE IMAGE LIFE

Mind you, there are millions of cars on Johannesburg’s roads, so driving at 40 kilometres per hour in this city’s congestion in less than 20 minutes doesn’t leave much time for grooming.

So brain, stop judging ok!

I’m actually arguing with my brain because she told me that what I did was terrible and people are aware of my secret because they can smell my foul odour from a mile away.

I know I don’t smell because I did manage to put on some roll-on, run toothpaste through my mouth and change my underwear before dashing for the door. And nobody notices what you wear at work anyway (or so I’d like to believe).

My colleagues are probably just looking in my direction while attending to a call that is making them shake their heads in disapproval. They are also probably eating something that has gone off, and are expressing disgust while on the phone and looking in my direction.

So, my secret is safe. And I did nothing wrong.

I’m certain that I’m not the only one who skips a shower here and there to make it to work on time 🙂

*image from Your Coffee Break.

*DailyPost WordPress.

2 thoughts on “TO SHOWER OR NOT TO SHOWER … WHEN YOU’RE LATE FOR WORK

Leave a Reply

