BECOMING A MOM AT 40

I wouldn’t mind having my first child at the age of 40.

In fact, I think that having a child at a later stage is advantageous to building a strong and healthy family.

HALLE BERRY AND DAUGHTER NAHLAI’d like to believe that at the age of 40 I’d be mature enough to handle the responsible of taking care of a freshly produced human being who needs to be molded into a healthy member of society.

Raising a child is no easy task, as I’ve seen from my friends and family members that have kids, so I guess that it’s quite important that I have it together mentally, physically and emotionally to handle the joys and pressures of motherhood.

I think that by the age of 40, I would have achieved a lot in my life. I would be well traveled, educated, financially stable and I would have found the right partner to raise my child with.

I would have achieved most of my career goals without the pressure of raising a family, which, from what my friends and family say, is quite strenuous as you strive towards a healthy balance between home and work responsibilities.

I would have maxed out the joys of being young with as few responsibilities as possible, and also taken time to prepare myself as much as possible for motherhood.

With finding the right partner for my child, I think that I would have had enough time to date and decide on the kind of man I want to spend the rest of my life with. Besides, finding a man at this age (the 20’s) is almost impossible because most of them are still running around trying to find themselves, so hopefully, by the time I reach mid-age, I would’ve found the love of my life who wants to commit and start a family.

After coming across women in their 40’s and seeing how happy they are with their lives, themselves and what they’ve achieved, I was inspired to think differently about family life and how a modern day woman goes about achieving this part of her life.

I’ve learned from these women that the decision you make to spend the rest of your life with someone is one of the most important ones you will make because it will determine the quality of life that you will live.

It will also determine the quality of life of your offspring, and together, you and your partner will be responsible for caring and loving that human being, and for shaping them into a constructive member of society.

This choice can’t at all be rushed.

I know of the concerns of conceiving after the age of 35, but with proper prenatal care and working closely with my doctor, I should be fine.

If it happens that I become a mom at the age of 40, I’ll be happy with that.

*image from We Heart It.

*Dailypost WordPress.

Leave a Reply

