MY HAPPINESS REPORT

Life might not go our way, but we all have something to be happy about.

The recent release of the 2013 World Happiness report by the UN Sustainable Development Solutions in conjunction with Columbia University’s Earth Institute got me thinking about the things that make me happy.

South Africa was ranked the 96th happiest country out of the 156 countries surveyed, so we’re not so bad on the happiness scale, but we could definitely do better. While chilling on the couch this past weekend just vegetating, I realized that I’ve always had things that make me happy but I don’t talk about them enough.

So here are some things that fall into my happiness report and do well in putting a smile on my face and in my heart.

BE HAPPY HAPPINESS REPORT 2013 BLOG LIFEGood food and good conversation

I love having lunches and dinners with my loved ones, be it family or friends. Nothing is more heart-warming than gathering around a table with those that matter to me the most to tantalize our palettes with the tastier things in life.

It makes me feel like I’m a part of a community of people who love and care about me.

Coffee

I love a good cup of coffee. My favourite type is a cappuccino, and I love having it with honey. I love the social effects of coffee as well; how coffee brings people together and how conversation flows over a good cup of coffee.

I think I’m more addicted to the social side of coffee and the taste of it rather than the stimulation that caffeine gives.

Cranberry juice

Cranberry juice is the most delicious drink on earth, and I’m definitely addicted to it. My love for it is so hectic that I can go clubbing and only have cranberry juice throughout the night.

Having it makes me feel good and refreshed, and I know that I’m giving my body a treat because it’s high in Vitamin C and it’s generally good for women.

A morning jog

Jogging in the morning does wonders for me physically, mentally and emotionally. It gives me the kick-start necessary to get my day going. Jogging is so addictive that if I miss a morning jog out of laziness, I’ll be grumpy, moody and tired the whole day.

Viva la jog life!

Dance

Dance is life! I feel like it gives me a ray of sunshine in my life. I also tend to feel grumpy and sad when I miss a dance session, and I’m one of those people who can dance all night long at a party and only get tired when it’s time to leave.

I’ve learned to do the things that I love and enjoy because those are the things that add happiness to life. And besides, they’re a gift from God, so why not enjoy the things we love while we’re still alive and well? 🙂

Leave a Reply

