FIRST THING I DO WHEN I WAKE UP IN THE MORNING

I think that I’ve officially been bitten by the smartphone bug.

I say this because the first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is check my text messages and my social media timelines.

TEXTING IN BED LIFE YOUNG PEOPLE BLOGYou’d think that the least I could do after hitting the snooze button a dozen times is to drag myself out of bed and hit the shower, but no, I go through my phone.

But I’ve got very good reasons for this.

Firstly, I find it difficult to wake up, especially during the work week where seven hours of sleep feels like a two minute nap. It generally takes me 30 minutes to deal with the fact that sleep time is over and I need to get out of bed.

The snooze button with ten minute intervals helps me with this realization.

When I finally decide to get up, I have to divert my attention away from my desire to doze off again with something else, so the easiest and most effective thing for me to do is go through my messages and my social media timelines.

I answer messages that I didn’t get to respond to because I usually doze off in the middle of a conversation when I’m texting someone at night while in my warm, comfy bed.

Some text fanatics consider this rude because I’m leaving them hanging during a chat, but I love my sleep and I won’t resist the urge to fall into the depths of dreamland.

After doing my little bit of admin, I proceed to Twitter and Facebook just for fun.

It’s cool to see people’s morning messages and news updates. I guess this is the part that proves that I’m addicted to my phone because I can’t seem to start the day without having a quick look at what’s happening in the Twitter world and in people’s lives on Facebook. It kind of makes me feel like I’m part of the world again after being out of it for about seven hours.

So (as I like to tell myself) I’m not the typical new generation kid who merely checks their phone first thing in the morning just for fun. It’s for a very important purpose, and that is to wake up and get an update on what’s happening in the world.

So, I’d like to take an opportunity to thank my smartphone and all social networks for their support in assisting me with waking up in the morning.

And I’d like to give a special thanks to my snooze button for never giving up on me by forcing me to wake up every time minutes from the time my alarm goes off.

*image from anime.desktopnexus.com

Leave a Reply

