THE JOURNEY TO BEING HEALTHY

I am overweight, and nobody is to blame for this except me.

I let myself go, and hid behind having no time for exercise or for cooking healthy meals. I worked long hours and relied on junk food to keep me going throughout many countless nights, and I drank lots of alcohol.

My rock bottom moment occurred when I felt as though I was constantly carrying a heavy load, which was the case because of the extra weight I had picked up. And when I felt as though I looked like a lump of fat in my favourite A-line dress, I definitely knew it was time for change.

I decided to get help from a nutritionist and a personal trainer so that my weight loss goal could be attainable and streamlined.

I did weight training and cardio as part of my exercise regime, but the real difference came through my eating plan. I now believe that weight loss and maintaining a healthy lifestyle is 90% diet and 10% physical training. I cut out all junk food, alcohol, high carb foods and sugars, and ate a diet complete with lean protein, fruits, vegetables and lots of water.

Here’s the skeletal eating plan that I started with:

8am: a bowl of oats mixed with egg white

10am: a fruit salad with low fat yogurt or a smoothie

12pm: Hake (or a can of tuna) with seasonal vegetables

2pm: fruit of your choice

Between 4pm and 6pm: Chicken breasts with seasonal vegetables

 

CHICKEN SALAD HEALTHY EATING DIET WEIGHT LOSS PLAN

If I got hungry between 7pm and 9pm, I snacked on fruit or had a bowl of chicken or fish salad.

I also drank lots of water and less tea and coffee.

I started to see results within 2 weeks of this eating plan. It’s like the excess fat simply melted away.

I also exercised at least 4 times in a week, warming up with cardio and focusing on weight training, which is great for toning and building up the strength of muscles that have been dormant for a while.

My mind was my biggest obstacle during the 12 week process of losing weight. The battle is own or lost in the mind, and I had to keep going during times I felt like giving up or giving into cravings for cake (I love desserts).

I also experienced lots of discouragement and jealousy from some of my peers. I was told that I was going to fail, that what I was doing was silly and I was becoming “too skinny”; a look not fitting for an African woman. I had to learn to block out all discouragement, to the point of cutting off certain “friends” that tried to deter me from my goal.

Taking the step towards a healthy lifestyle might not be easy, but it’s definitely worth it.

You’ll not only feel and look great, but you’ll also save yourself from unnecessary health problems.

*image from weheartit.com

*Dailypost WordPress.

3 thoughts on “THE JOURNEY TO BEING HEALTHY

  1. I’m thrilled that you were are successful in your journey to health. Learning new life habits can be enlightening and scary all at the same time. Congratulations on your success.

Leave a Reply

