SIGNS THAT I’M NOT AN EARLY MORNING PERSON

One important fact that my friends and family know about me is that I’m not an early morning person.

In fact, waking up before 5am is the most tortuous thing you could ever put me through. I would rather swim in an ice cold pool in the middle of a cold winter’s night than wake up early in the morning.

EARLY MORNING WAKE UP ALARM CLOCK GOOGLE IMAGE BLOG YFM

My internal body clock does not respond to early mornings so much so that I sleep right through a 5am alarm, no matter how loud it is. But if it’s important that I wake up at ungodly hours in the morning, which are 5am and earlier, I will do so, but best believe that my body will fight me tooth and nail.

This morning was a torturous one because I had to wake up at 5am to make it to work for an early morning meeting. I had to be in the office by 8am, and because I live 45 minutes away from work, I had to make sure that I beat the morning traffic, which starts at 6am, so that I could make it on time.

I was not happy at all.

I wanted to cry; in fact I wanted to weep hysterically. Luckily for me, it was too early in the morning for that and energy that I did not have would have been used for such an exercise.

I displayed all the signs of a non-morning person, and in case you didn’t know what these are, I’m here to share them with you.

Can’t sleep the night before

For some odd reason, I really struggle with falling asleep the night before an early morning, especially if I know that I have something important going on that morning that requires me to wake up early. It’s like my body protests against waking up early, so it keeps me wide awake in the middle of the night so that I feel as though I’ve been hit by a bus in the morning when I have to wake up. Counting sheep for 90% of the night and only having 10% of rest to operate on is quite frustrating; it’s like my body is sabotaging itself by doing this.

Marveling at the sunrise

I only get to marvel at the sunrise when I’m on a safari holiday, and not in the concrete jungle of Johannesburg. It’s amazing to see shades of pink, blue and purple in the sky with the backdrop of Joburg’s city lights and skyscrapers and a couple of cars cruising by to their destinations. It’s even more awesome when I hear the morning birds chirp in the background and breathe in the crisp early morning air. There’s something refreshing about. I’m able to be fascinated by all this because I don’t experience it often, and it’s by choice.

Grumpiness

I’m the grumpiest person alive when I have to wake up early in the morning. It’s like waking up on the wrong side of the bed; I’m not too sure why I’m upset but I just am. Being around people when I’ve encountered an early morning is difficult because all I want to do is chop their heads off, especially if they are babbling on about nothing in an attempt to be in conversation with me. It’s a weird kind of grumpiness that doesn’t go away as the day progresses.

Getting through the day is difficult

Even the glorious activity of making coffee becomes a chore when I’ve had an early morning. I become so drained and tired by noon time that all I want to do is crawl back into my bed and sleep. And as Murphy’s Law would have it, the time when I feel the most drained is when I get the most number of calls, meeting requests and paperwork, preventing me from running away into my car to grab a 15 minute power nap (which could easily turn into a 2 hour nap). Someone should smack Murphy and his stupid law with a spoon to wipe them off the face of the earth!

I detest early mornings and I don’t think I’ll ever get used to them.

They only apply in my life when I have to get up at the crack of dawn to get to an early morning meeting or appointment on time, but other than that, I’m very happy with my internal clock waking me up at 7am on weekdays and whatever time it feels like waking me up on weekends.

*image from weheartit.com

Leave a Reply

