THE THINGS I DO WHILE STUCK IN TRAFFIC

Driving during peak hour traffic is one of the biggest headaches in life.

Not only is it annoying because it wastes so much petrol, but it does well in raising my blood pressure to colossal levels with all the hooting, screaming and general rude behaviour from other irritated motorists.

Traffic in Lagos, Nigeria.
Traffic in Lagos, Nigeria.

Instead of being all worked up by sitting for hours in my car during a traffic jam, I’ve found new and interesting things to do to distract and entertain myself while I drive at a snail’s pace to my destination.

Social networking

I love scrolling through social media while stuck in traffic. I find the most interesting articles and trending topics on during this time. It’s also a great time to catch up on what people are saying or doing on Facebook and Instagram. It’s also a good time to take a selfie or to shoot a short video. Escaping into the social networking space is really fun and entertaining.

Blogging

Blogging while stuck in traffic is one of my favourite things to do. Some of my best ideas for blogposts have come from sitting in traffic jams.to pull this off, make sure that you have your writer’s journal with you, or write your post as a note on your phone. A writer never misses an opportunity to write.

Dancing

Nothing beats turning the volume up when my favourite jam plays on the radio or popping in a feel-good CD and dancing until I feel like I’m sweating. The funniest part about dancing in my car while stuck in a traffic jam is the weird looks that I get from the motorists next to me. They look at me as if I’ve lost my mind. Dancing in the car really does release endorphins, so you won’t care much about the traffic jam you’re stuck in.

Eating

If you’re stuck in morning traffic while commuting to work, I would recommend that you have your breakfast in the car. It will help you to get ready for the day ahead. Don’t forget your cup of coffee to help wake you up and make you feel like everything is alright with the world.

Sometimes you can’t prevent being stuck in a traffic jam, but you can choose how you handle the situation. Since frustration, impatience and anger don’t work, do something that you like. And who knows; you might just find a new hobby in the comfort of your own car.

*image from Techpoint.ng.

*Dailypost WordPress.

One thought on “THE THINGS I DO WHILE STUCK IN TRAFFIC

Leave a Reply

