NOTHING DAY

 

Today was a nothing day.

Everything was as it should be, and I’m grateful for that.

No one irritated each other on the road; in fact, there were no traffic jams.

Everything was quiet when I arrived at the office. The phone wasn’t ringing off the hook, I had received only one email and there were no pending deadlines.

So I decided to go onto YouTube and spend some time on social media. There were no new trending videos, just the same trends from the week. So I listened to my favourite songs. There was nothing new on social media; just people having conversations and sharing silly posts.

I thought I’d hear conversation by my desk because I work in an open office area, but my colleagues were nowhere to be found. All I could hear was the sound of the air conditioner.

nothing-picture-life-google-image

After 3 hours and countless cups of coffee, I drove down to the gym for some exercise. Even gym was empty so much so that I had the whole place to myself. I ran on the treadmill by myself and did weight training by myself.

I drove back to the office after gym, and came back to nothing – no deadlines, no phone calls, no colleagues, and now no coffee. I drank it all.

So I decided to write.

I opened the word document on my computer and stared at it for a good half hour. I had nothing to write about. My mind was blank and words refused to come together to form sentences.

What was happening?

And where was everyone?

I looked at my phone to check the time, and I came across the date. Today was a Saturday.

I was so out of sync with time because I hadn’t rested properly in two weeks. I had my days jumbled. My mind was lagging behind.

Today was a nothing day because it was a Saturday. I was meant to be at home on the couch in my pyjamas stuffing myself with pizza while watching a good series.

Instead of beating myself with my mouse for being so silly, I packed my bag, switched off my laptop and headed home to do just that.

*Dailypost WordPress.

3 thoughts on “NOTHING DAY

Leave a Reply

