HAIR GLORIOUS HAIR!!

What, in all human creation, can make a woman feel on top of the world about her image, and sometimes make her want to hide away from the world when it’s not looking good and healthy? Yes, you guessed it correctly- the crown of every woman’s beauty, hair.

Over the years, I’ve come to realise that hair is more of an expression of my character than it is about identity. There have been tones of stereotypes about certain hairstyles that society has used to put women in a specific box; for instance: if you have a weave on then you’re trying to copy European women with long. Straight hair, and when you have an afro, you’re trying too hard to prove to the world that you’re proudly African. Neo-soul singer India Arie pinned down this issue of hair and identity very well in her hit song titled ‘I am not my hair’, where she disseminated the message that the type hairstyle that one chooses does not define who they are. Your hairstyle is more about your own unique expression of your character and what image you choose to portray.

What I find most fun and exciting about hair is that its one of those flexible image markers that I have the opportunity to experiment with and try out different things. Some things work out beautifully and some turn out to be a real disaster, but at least at the end of it all, I am able to figure out what works best for me. And in all honesty, when I’m rocking a good hairstyle and I have healthy, well maintained hair, I really feel like a million bucks. Great hair provides that inner satisfaction of wanting to look beautiful in my own unique way and also expressing how I want my image to look at that point in time. I find that hair also acts as a great accessory that complements my look. It’s like that finishing touch; that cherry on top that completes the look of the moment.

Different hairstyles each have something unique to say about a woman’s character. Whether the hair is short or long, a certain type of character is portrayed through the hairstyle. Here’s a couple of hairstyles that I found to be quite unique to the woman and yet trendy at the same time.

Radio personality Pabi Moloi. Photo: sa career focus

The bald head is really daring, adventurous and is certainly not for the faint-hearted. What this says about a woman is that she’s wants to jump off the cliff called ‘a comfortable and safe hairstyle’ and she wants to try something new. This woman is all about expressing her natural beauty and she is also comfortable with herself. She wants a hassle free life and shows that less is sometimes more in life.

Singer Solange Knowles. Photo: black presence
Pretty mama rocking dem dreadz! Photo: dreadlocks guide blogspot

The girl rocking the afro is the eclectic city girl who loves all things artistic and can get away with being afrocentric. This girl oozes an aura of being laid back; taking time with breathe in the area before heading back to her artistic space. She characterises what it means to be artistic in the urban city space. This beauty is similar to the dreadlocked girl. They both share an artistic flare, but with the dreadlocked girl, she seems more permanent in her style as once the hair is locked, there’s no turning back unless it’s all shaven off. So the dreadlocked girl funky, fresh and free spirited in her own unique way.

Just relaxing with the hair! Photo: Cosmetic web

The relaxed hair girl is one that’s taking a break from all of the braiding and weaving. She’s in a pretty normal state, not too dull or too out-there. She has already experimented enough with different hairstyles and is now chilling while looking out for something new to try out.

Your girl ‘B’!! Photo: Gallo Images/Destiny/Nick Boulton

The girl with the weave is your uber- city cosmopolitan kinda girl. The weave brings out the glamour in the girl; that aspirational, climbing-up-the-corporate-and social-ladder kind of glamour. A woman who rocks the weave wants to experiment with a look that transcends all borders and can be considered as international beauty. She loves the good things in life; the upmarket nightclub, the manicured nails, and the latest fashion trends. This girl isn’t materialistic; she’s just unapologetic about wanting and loving the good things in life.

Hair does not necessarily have to be a headache, although at some point it’s bound to, but when we as women start to play around with different hairstyles to compliment our characters, hair is bound to become our most prized possession that will help us walk around with the greatest confidence because when we as women look good, we feel on top of the world.

32 thoughts on “HAIR GLORIOUS HAIR!!

  1. Howdy. Very cool site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also…I am glad to locate so much useful info right here within the post. Thank you for sharing.

  2. I used to be suggested this website via my cousin. I’m now not sure whether or not this put up is written by way of him as no one else recognise such designated approximately my difficulty. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  3. Good day. Very nice site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also…I’m happy to locate numerous helpful info here within the article. Thanks for sharing..

  4. I really like your writing style, good information, thanks for putting up . “He wrapped himself in quotations- as a beggar would enfold himself in the purple of Emperors.” by Rudyard Kipling.

  5. Interesting article! You make valuable and unique points in your article. I agree with you on many of your thoughts. Some of your content requires more thought on my part.

  6. Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and enjoy learning more on this topic. If possible, as you gain expertise, would you mind updating your blog site with more info? It’s extremely helpful for me.

  7. I just want to say I’m new to blogging and site-building and truly enjoyed this web page. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You definitely have amazing articles. Thanks a bunch for revealing your blog.

  8. I like what you guys are up too. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my site .

  9. This is a great piece of reading material. You could probably add to this and create an ebook with very little effort. I am impressed with your writing skills, attention to detail and fresh views.

  10. Hello you it´s just I sherish your nice blog, I would feel special if i could publish a multimedia review on this wordpress site in my would you allow me that?

Leave a Reply

